Another stupid computer question - Hardware edition

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by gwartney, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    Ok, I got this new Asus laptop a couple of weeks ago. My HP was all beat up and the case was cracked. The new Asus will not play movies on my hotel TV through HDMI. My old HP plays them using the same HDMI cable on the same TV.

    I spent an hour with Asus support and they didn't resolve it. I thought I'd give them one more chance so I called them tonight. After going through all kinds of things, the rep had me connect my HDMI cable to my computer monitor. It played fine on my computer monitor. Still doesn't play on my hotel TV. The rep is satisfied that there is nothing wrong with the Asus.

    I tried a second HDMI cable. Hotel TV won't play. It just says "no signal." I've read a lot and seen this problem discussed but there doesn't seem to be an easy fix.

    If I was at home and it played on my home TV, I'd be fairly OK with it. Right now, Movies in my hotel from my PC are a major form of entertainment. All drivers are up to date. I have deleted the old drivers and new ones are installed.

    Anyone have any suggestions? Could it still be the Asus?

    @DrivenByDemons
     
  2. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Staff Member

    Reputations:
    541,408
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119,592
    Likes Received:
    91,023
    did they tell you to try "Function+f4?"
     
    nextlevel likes this.
  3. Gitfiddle

    Gitfiddle Live Deliciously

    Reputations:
    133,210
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,616
    Likes Received:
    26,978
    WATCH THE GOD DAMNED MOVIES ON YOUR LAPTOP, FOR FUCK'S SAKE!
     
    BleedingGums likes this.
  4. DarkFriday

    DarkFriday Fired as a MOD...Twice. Gold

    Reputations:
    722,493
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    172,466
    Likes Received:
    87,910
    :chair:
     
    TonyJax likes this.
  5. TonyJax

    TonyJax White Privilege Denied. VIP

    Reputations:
    117,477
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    25,693
    Likes Received:
    12,427
    Kitty porn block got you down?
     
  6. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    No. And I just tried it and it does nothing. Function F8 brings up the project screen and it's set on "duplicate." The weird thing is that my pc screen adjusts to the TV screen ratio when I plug it in. It just doesn't show.
     
  7. DarkFriday

    DarkFriday Fired as a MOD...Twice. Gold

    Reputations:
    722,493
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    172,466
    Likes Received:
    87,910
    :console::dontknow:
     
  8. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    That new laptop has a superb screen but it's only 15.6" My hotel screen is probably 42 or so.
     
  9. nextlevel

    nextlevel You're so amazing

    Reputations:
    49,642
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    6,934
    Likes Received:
    3,700
    That's fucked up bro, just keep messing with it till it works
     
  10. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Staff Member

    Reputations:
    541,408
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119,592
    Likes Received:
    91,023
    fn+f4 brings up a menu where you should be able to turn on an external monitor or projector "TV" did you look carefully?
     
  11. DarkFriday

    DarkFriday Fired as a MOD...Twice. Gold

    Reputations:
    722,493
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    172,466
    Likes Received:
    87,910
    Just watch local news...

     
    Ridic and gwartney like this.
  12. Gitfiddle

    Gitfiddle Live Deliciously

    Reputations:
    133,210
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,616
    Likes Received:
    26,978
    You'll watch it on your laptop and like it!!

    [​IMG]
     
    Dream Theater likes this.
  13. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    I really like the new laptop and I haven't been able to find another brand that looks as good. My last choice will be to return it but I'd rather figure it out.
     
    nextlevel likes this.
  14. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Staff Member

    Reputations:
    541,408
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119,592
    Likes Received:
    91,023
    Also, are you sure HDMI is enabled in the bios?
     
    nextlevel likes this.
  15. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    That's what FN F8 does on mine. FN F4 has no effect.
     
  16. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Staff Member

    Reputations:
    541,408
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119,592
    Likes Received:
    91,023
    Try this brah

    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1844069
     
  17. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    You gonna eat your fat?
     
    Dream Theater likes this.
  18. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
  19. Bro

    Bro Oligarchical Corporatocracy VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    199,053
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    85,588
    Likes Received:
    16,710
    Hotel might have you blocked. Call the front desk.

    Or try it on another tv.
     
  20. gwartney

    gwartney Unafilliated Gold

    Reputations:
    103,080
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    42,909
    Likes Received:
    15,341
    I haven't looked in the bios but the screen size changes when I plug the HDMI cable in to the laptop. I'll check the bios.