Any opinions on Hyper V versus VMware on Windows 8?

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by DrivenByDemons, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    I need a VM and was wondering who likes what
     
  2. gilaet

    gilaet Xanax Service Dog Staff Member

    Reputations:
    242,508
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    88,528
    Likes Received:
    21,494
    I like beer and titties.
     
  3. Mark Mayonnaise

    Mark Mayonnaise You look like a tree! VIP

    Reputations:
    315,206
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    177,063
    Likes Received:
    59,072
    I like video games and eating pussy
     
  4. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
  5. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
  6. Dave

    Dave Active Member

    Reputations:
    41
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,247
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use Virtual Box on my iMac so my wife can run windows. She has to report her hours for work on a site the only works with Internet explorer lol

    Anyways it was free and it works fine
     
  7. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    Cool story about Mac.
     
  8. newcastlefan

    newcastlefan גֵּרְשֹׁם VIP

    Reputations:
    134,967
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    57,578
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    probably depends upon what you want to do with it. if you just want to run virtual guest OSs virtual box is free and is not a microsoft product (i think). if you want to run virtualized desktops then your choices are MS, VMware and Symantec (and Symantec is probably the only one with dynamic client configs.

    on my mac i run parallels to run a windows 8 vm session.
     
  9. Dave

    Dave Active Member

    Reputations:
    41
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,247
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm sure it works the same on Windows
     
  10. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    Wait, what's the diff? I want virtual hardware. Like bios boot screen shit. Complete hardware isolation.
     
  11. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    I was being an asshole.
     
  12. J Hi

    J Hi Grape Slushie VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    204,623
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    39,239
    Likes Received:
    25,615
    I think you need to disable your location....
     
  13. Mark Mayonnaise

    Mark Mayonnaise You look like a tree! VIP

    Reputations:
    315,206
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    177,063
    Likes Received:
    59,072
    God damn it J High
     
  14. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    I am everywhere and nowhere.
     
  15. J Hi

    J Hi Grape Slushie VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    204,623
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    39,239
    Likes Received:
    25,615
    :dontknow:
     
  16. newcastlefan

    newcastlefan גֵּרְשֹׁם VIP

    Reputations:
    134,967
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    57,578
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    you get that, but if you want to, for example, virtualize one license of office to multiple virtual machines the config is locked into the image before runtime with HyperV. Adding drivers and some software requires rebuilding the desktop image file. Symantec's product is more like using dynamically loading kernel mods in Linux: there is a base VM image and then drivers and software are added as the VM starts without requiring you to rebuild the image. this is a concern if you want to service virtual desktops. if you just want to have guest OSs running its not an issue.
     
  17. DarkFriday

    DarkFriday Fired as a MOD...Twice. Gold

    Reputations:
    717,646
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    171,971
    Likes Received:
    87,064
  18. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    Excellent. Thanks for the good explanation.
     
  19. Napoleon V2

    Napoleon V2 New Member Banned User

    Reputations:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,803
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just installed Ubuntu to my laptop but the bootload we is fucked now so it takes effort to get into Linux upon booting
     
  20. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    259,517
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,108
    Likes Received:
    41,861
    Lol wut?