Anybody here use Crashplan? Or have recommendations?

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by Chimney Portions, Apr 30, 2013.

1. Chimney Portions

Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

Reputations:
    I nearly lost a Tb of data today. I didn't, thankfully, but the risk of it scared the shit out of me. I'm now seriously thinking about an encrypted cloud backup, but I have no experience with this.

Has anybody used Crashplan? So far it seems the best for what I need. The price is great and there's unlimited storage space and file size. I understand that moving a few Tbs of data is going to be slow as fuck, but I can live with that.

From your knowledge, is there any:
    -Unforeseen downsides?
    -Risks?
    -Better alternatives?
    -Unmentioned limitations (other than speed)?

Any info and opinions are appreciated.

2. Ipokesmot

Ipokesmot Well-Known Member Banned User

Reputations:
    No, I'm not sending my stuff to some god-knows-what remote server. I just use 3 hard drives and manually backup important stuff.

3. InstigatinMofo

InstigatinMofo Active Member

Reputations:
    backing up terabytes to the cloud doesnt make much sense to me, seems very impractical.
    buy a couple of external HDs, they are very cheap these days

try somethiong like this. http://www.2brightsparks.com/syncback/sbpro.html

Last edited: Apr 30, 2013
  4. Goods

Goods Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    My Drobo lives inside my gun safe and is hardwired to my server.

5. cia212

cia212 Well-Known Member VIP

Reputations:
    I have a hard drive dock, it's easy to just pop the drives in, do the backups, then put them back in the safe. I haven't used Crashplan, but some storage software can be a nightmare to use...it either hogs resources or is full of adware.

6. NotMyBro

NotMyBro VIP Extreme Gold

Reputations:
    I have all of my data on Crashplan. I'm happy with the service. Never rely on a single point of failure.