Anyone ever blow a job interview.?

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by TeeDonkey, Dec 31, 2015.

1. TeeDonkey

TeeDonkey Well-Known Member VIP

Reputations:
    I'll try and make this as short as possible. I could use some advice....

Currently I am a union electrician here in Maryland for almost 20 years. The work outlet for the union looks really grim, Baltimore has changed and it's not the industrial town it once was...chemical companies, Bethlehem Steel, General Motors etc, all gone.

I've seen a lot of my friends, good electricians get laid off. So while I was/am working, I decided to go back to college (community college), and give myself some more options if a layoff was to happen. It could take a year before the union could send you back to work locally. The unions answer is to travel to other states and work.

After 2 years, I just finished my Associates Degree in Construction management. So I have that, and 20 years in the field.

I saw a job opening at a union electrical contractor in my area, for an assistant project manager.

I sent my resume in, and got called in for an interview about a month later.

I was a little nervous, never been on a job interview before. Plus I felt like I didn't meet every requirement they wanted for the job. They were looking for a Bachelor's degree (or equal experience).

During the interview, I tried to stress what I learned in school. That I understand the principles of project management, and I am familiar with all the software, etc. We ended the interview, and I felt it went well.

Got a call 2 weeks later, hey would you come back in, we would like to talk more. I said sure man no problem.