Chromecast Question

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by Bye You!, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Bye You!

    Bye You! The n word guy Gold

    Reputations:
    339,535
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    79,567
    Likes Received:
    41,529
    I have a Chromecast and it worked fine.

    Then I got a new modem and it now works like crap. The sound and images are not synced and it is very stuttery. Unwatchable.

    I checked that the modem was on 2.4, not 5, and I also made sure it is set to a less busy channel. No improvement.

    It works great for YouTube, but I want to stream TV shows from other websites, and that is where the issue lies. I read that is a common problem.

    Any suggestions?

    TIA.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015
    dawg, JimJones, babybear and 9 others like this.
  2. Mlaw

    Mlaw Quite Contrarian Gold

    Reputations:
    369,458
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    58,833
    Likes Received:
    23,912
    did you uninstall the application and then reinstall it? I recently had to do that. I love my Chromecast, I do find that I get better quality when I use my tablet and not my laptop.
     
  3. Trainwreckjm

    Trainwreckjm Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    11,558
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Are you casting the tab or casting the feed directly (some sites let you do that?) I find it works better for me when I cast the tab.
     
  4. unclefreddy

    unclefreddy Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    12,954
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    2,783
  5. Pigsaw

    Pigsaw Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    20,707
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,576
    Likes Received:
    5,325
    Hey! Welcome back! Long time no see. :yay:
     
  6. cwok

    cwok Well-Known Member VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    27,281
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    So your ROUTER is now set to 5Ghz, and set on a channel that is free, well done so far.

    Got any settings like these?
    [​IMG]
    "Mixed" mode is crazy slow for me. B/G is slower than straight G. G should be what you need. But Wireless-N only if you know all your equipment is N compatible, and thats the fastest of them all. If all that changed is your router, i'd point to the router first. Good luck!
     
  7. Tinman

    Tinman Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    88,733
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    7,206
    Likes Received:
    7,102
    (Louisiana) Bayou

    :cheer:
     
  8. 1Vegasgirl

    1Vegasgirl Well-Known Member VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    453,639
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    32,551
    Likes Received:
    46,071
    Hey, look who's back. You were missed. :yay:
     
  9. WillyBest

    WillyBest Achiever Gold

    Reputations:
    251,471
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24,586
    Likes Received:
    23,617
    @Bye You! is back! It's all gonna be okay!!!
     
  10. maroon

    maroon Well-Known Member Banned User

    Reputations:
    45,379
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    7,818
    Likes Received:
    10,979
    I'm kind of rude. :rolleyes:
     
    IfTheyOnlyKnew likes this.
  11. Pothead

    Pothead Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    2,272
    does Chromcast have Amazon Instant Video or HBO Now?
     
  12. Bye You!

    Bye You! The n word guy Gold

    Reputations:
    339,535
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    79,567
    Likes Received:
    41,529
    Chromecast does it all, brother.

    Thanks for the way technical info, peoples! I'll have to look into this after.

    I read somewhere it should not be at 5, cuz chrome cast isn't that advanced. :dontknow:

    Stupid cable company messing with my feed.
     
  13. cwok

    cwok Well-Known Member VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    27,281
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    It appears older Chromecasts do not support 5ghz. the new ones do. In my experience 2.4 vs 5 isn't that big of a deal
     
  14. Mr. Potato Head

    Mr. Potato Head ~Would Like to Play~ Gold

    Reputations:
    109,232
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    66,932
    Likes Received:
    21,601
    Bye!! :hug:
     
    smichal, IfTheyOnlyKnew and sstressed like this.
  15. BleedingGums

    BleedingGums Fesh Fox Faggot VIP

    Reputations:
    17,126
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39,915
    Likes Received:
    4,627
  16. Micheal Kenyon

    Micheal Kenyon Here

    Reputations:
    128,417
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    11,405
    Likes Received:
    13,027
    Hey! I have Cox and when I got a new modem it worked like shit also, so I called them up. They told me they had to "program" it from their end. Once they did, it worked fine. Up until that last one I always just swapped them out with no problem.
     
    Bye You! likes this.
  17. sstressed

    sstressed enhancement toker VIP

    Reputations:
    122,690
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41,176
    Likes Received:
    23,591
    BYE! :yay:

    :)
     
    IfTheyOnlyKnew and Bye You! like this.
  18. PSU Shower Room

    PSU Shower Room Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    43,188
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4,049
    Likes Received:
    9,877

    have chromecast. love it.

    also, if it's a new router, you probably have the ability to choose which devices have bandwidth priority. check your router user manual on how to set it up.

    it makes a big difference when so many devices go through your router these days.
     
  19. boomer1976

    boomer1976 Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    8,421
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Uninstall, reinstall. Reset your chromecast using the app. Check your modem settings to ensure no conflicts. Reboot everything.


    Nice to see you around missus. I haven't been around much myself.
     
    Bye You! likes this.
  20. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    261,065
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,273
    Likes Received:
    42,171
    This is true. Chromecast only supports 2.4 which sucks if you are in a crowded wi-fi area. If it worked with the old modem I'm guessing it was using a less cluttered channel and this new modem is using a crowded one. There's a great program called "inssider" you can run on PC or android that will give you a graphical chart of all the wireless AP's in your area and the channel and strength they use. If you can fire that up and look for a channel that isn't used switch your new modem to that. It sounds hard but it isn't. Here's a sample of what you'll see. In this graphic you'd probably be best using channel 1 since the existing Livebox-2F14 AP has such a low signal. Or if you see a nice gap somewhere between AP's stick yours right in between. The number in the center of the signal is your channel number. Here you would want to avoid 6 and 11. Make sense? Message me if you need help....

    View attachment 37225
     
    Bye You! likes this.