@DbD (or any PC genius)

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by Rum Balls, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    Got a weird problem with formatting disks, say Win 7 to Win 10. Do the updates, reboot into it, no problems. Add another disk and remove it and there's a problem booting into 10. Shows a choice to boot into 7 which is no longer on there. Is this common? Tried resetting the BIOS didn't help.

    @DrivenByDemons
     
  2. zingger

    zingger I'm Judging You Banned User

    Reputations:
    -64,088
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31,102
    Likes Received:
    5,895
    Let me just get the obligatory jpeg it comment out of the way now
     
    Mr Sinister and Chriza like this.
  3. ChuckZ

    ChuckZ My life is one big lazy day VIP

    Reputations:
    33,462
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    216,065
    Likes Received:
    46,763
    [​IMG]
     
    Nickthedick and Rum Balls like this.
  4. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    :rofl:
     
    ChuckZ likes this.
  5. BrulesRules

    BrulesRules Just grab 'em in the biscuits VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    104,032
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    152,573
    Likes Received:
    81,312
    have you tried rebooting yet?
     
  6. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    What OS are you using to format disks? Are you trying to format a disk and use it as an additional drive? Need more info.
     
  7. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    Windows 7 Ultimate. Formatted from a disc w/10 using Daemontools. Yes, as an additional drive.

    Keep having the same problem, it's fine then if i swap disks it can no longer boot into it.

    Maybe it has to do with instatalling w/ Daemontools from the other disk.
     
  8. Chriza

    Chriza The One Man Gangbang VIP

    Reputations:
    8,302
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27,929
    Likes Received:
    12,609
  9. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    Why not just use Windows 7 Ultimate to format the disk?
     
  10. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    I did, from an ISO using Daemontools

    Meant to say I formatted _from_ a disk formatted w/ 10.
     
  11. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    No, I meant just format the disk using Disk Management in Windows.
     
  12. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    Do you mean like writing the base NTFS formatting?

    It had an old OS on it, which wouldn't boot. Tried a DOS debug script but got errors.
     
  13. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    Yes. I mean just a simple NTFS format. If you're using it as additional storage in a Windows system, that's all you need to do.
     
    Rum Balls likes this.
  14. yosemite sam

    yosemite sam Camel Jockey

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27,340
    Likes Received:
    20,342
    How about shoving it up your ass?
     
    Chriza likes this.
  15. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    I guess I like having an OS on it in case one fucks up.

    Maybe that's not a good idea

    (thanks I think I'll go with the basic format fuck it)
     
  16. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    Like a dual-boot system?
     
  17. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    60,153
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    29,216
    Likes Received:
    21,070
    You know what I guess it was stuck in my head to put an OS on all disks, don't know why. I believe you solved the problemo thanks. The PC clearly gets confused with more than one OS.
     
    Mojopin likes this.
  18. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock

    Reputations:
    27,178
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Likes Received:
    27,249
    :up:
     
    Rum Balls likes this.
  19. RenchFries

    RenchFries Official Dawgshed Dutch representative VIP

    Reputations:
    63,634
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    27,780
    Likes Received:
    32,475
    Windows Key+R and type "msconfig"

    Click the "boot" tab

    In there, you can change your boot options, including removing the Windows 7 option.
     
  20. RenchFries

    RenchFries Official Dawgshed Dutch representative VIP

    Reputations:
    63,634
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    27,780
    Likes Received:
    32,475
    Also, if you want to have multiple OSes installed, always go from old to new. In this case, install 7 first, then 10... otherwise it fucks up the boot manager.
     
    Johnnykstaint likes this.