@DbD (or any PC genius)

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by Rum Balls, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    Got a weird problem with formatting disks, say Win 7 to Win 10. Do the updates, reboot into it, no problems. Add another disk and remove it and there's a problem booting into 10. Shows a choice to boot into 7 which is no longer on there. Is this common? Tried resetting the BIOS didn't help.

    @DrivenByDemons
     
  2. zingger

    zingger Judge and jury Gold

    Reputations:
    -19,906
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27,000
    Likes Received:
    4,188
    Let me just get the obligatory jpeg it comment out of the way now
     
    Mr Sinister and Chriza like this.
  3. ChuckZ

    ChuckZ You're so pusillanimous, oh yea.

    Reputations:
    190,508
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    207,052
    Likes Received:
    40,002
    [​IMG]
     
    Nickthedick and Rum Balls like this.
  4. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    :rofl:
     
    ChuckZ likes this.
  5. BrulesRules

    BrulesRules Just grab 'em in the biscuits VIP

    Reputations:
    350,989
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    133,932
    Likes Received:
    60,523
    have you tried rebooting yet?
     
  6. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    What OS are you using to format disks? Are you trying to format a disk and use it as an additional drive? Need more info.
     
  7. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    Windows 7 Ultimate. Formatted from a disc w/10 using Daemontools. Yes, as an additional drive.

    Keep having the same problem, it's fine then if i swap disks it can no longer boot into it.

    Maybe it has to do with instatalling w/ Daemontools from the other disk.
     
  8. Chriza

    Chriza The One Man Gangbang VIP

    Reputations:
    86,200
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24,978
    Likes Received:
    9,389
  9. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    Why not just use Windows 7 Ultimate to format the disk?
     
  10. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    I did, from an ISO using Daemontools

    Meant to say I formatted _from_ a disk formatted w/ 10.
     
  11. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    No, I meant just format the disk using Disk Management in Windows.
     
  12. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    Do you mean like writing the base NTFS formatting?

    It had an old OS on it, which wouldn't boot. Tried a DOS debug script but got errors.
     
  13. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    Yes. I mean just a simple NTFS format. If you're using it as additional storage in a Windows system, that's all you need to do.
     
    Rum Balls likes this.
  14. VarmintSam

    VarmintSam Well-Known Member VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    169,883
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    24,500
    Likes Received:
    17,343
    How about shoving it up your ass?
     
    Chriza likes this.
  15. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    I guess I like having an OS on it in case one fucks up.

    Maybe that's not a good idea

    (thanks I think I'll go with the basic format fuck it)
     
  16. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    Like a dual-boot system?
     
  17. Rum Balls

    Rum Balls VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    117,813
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    21,624
    Likes Received:
    14,129
    You know what I guess it was stuck in my head to put an OS on all disks, don't know why. I believe you solved the problemo thanks. The PC clearly gets confused with more than one OS.
     
    Mojopin likes this.
  18. Mojopin

    Mojopin Resplendent in his frock VIP

    Reputations:
    111,652
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,193
    Likes Received:
    22,056
    :up:
     
    Rum Balls likes this.
  19. RenchFries

    RenchFries Official Dawgshed Dutch representative Gold

    Reputations:
    171,220
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23,121
    Likes Received:
    21,772
    Windows Key+R and type "msconfig"

    Click the "boot" tab

    In there, you can change your boot options, including removing the Windows 7 option.
     
  20. RenchFries

    RenchFries Official Dawgshed Dutch representative Gold

    Reputations:
    171,220
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23,121
    Likes Received:
    21,772
    Also, if you want to have multiple OSes installed, always go from old to new. In this case, install 7 first, then 10... otherwise it fucks up the boot manager.
     
    Johnnykstaint likes this.