Do you have a Google Voice number?

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by VAsiCkBoy, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. VAsiCkBoy

    VAsiCkBoy Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    6,932
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10,105
    Likes Received:
    1,100
    Well.....do ya?

    I am setting this up and can't decide if I should use my existing mobile number or request a new number.

    What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?

    What do you like to do? What are you into?
     
  2. Vyb

    Vyb serial chiller Gold

    Reputations:
    7,053
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43,535
    Likes Received:
    1,303
    I do. I set it up with a new number and I'm trying to remember why. :bigthink

    I think I basically wanted to send all work, home and cell calls there to get voice mails emailed to me, but I didn't want my cell to ring every fucking time someone called me at home or work.
     
  3. DrivenByDemons

    DrivenByDemons Spinoff Jesus Staff Member

    Reputations:
    261,507
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70,665
    Likes Received:
    42,885
    Yes
     
  4. LonghornJ

    LonghornJ VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    254,275
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34,615
    Likes Received:
    26,493
    Creepy ass google...
     
    Mur likes this.
  5. Satori Brah

    Satori Brah Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    102,955
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    52,097
    Likes Received:
    7,564
  6. rolltide

    rolltide Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    51,788
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5,254
    Likes Received:
    9,110
    I have a number associated with Tuscaloosa, I didn't want to give out my real cell phone number
     
  7. redshirt

    redshirt Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    24,894
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    4,717
    Ya, pretty useful, since I'd rather not carry my work and personal phone at work, I have my GV number forward calls and texts to my work phone on a schedule. Only immediate family gets my real number and everyone else gets the GV number, makes it easy for me to set up DND and blacklists.
     
  8. GoshGeeGolly

    GoshGeeGolly Well-Known Member VIP Gold

    Reputations:
    63,791
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,676
    Likes Received:
    11,186
    what is this?
     
  9. ChuckZ

    ChuckZ Stay in bed, float up stream VIP

    Reputations:
    209,667
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    209,649
    Likes Received:
    42,107
    I just use it for outgoing calls, don't have my own number.
     
  10. RenchFries

    RenchFries Official Dawgshed Dutch representative Gold

    Reputations:
    189,159
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    24,054
    Likes Received:
    23,847
    I do.

    I use it all the time when making international calls. I can call any number in the US and send texts for free from anywhere in the world. Rates to other countries are super cheap, too. Highly recommended.
     
  11. eliasbboy

    eliasbboy Insert Witty Title Here Staff Member

    Reputations:
    211,064
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    36,465
    Likes Received:
    33,897
    I do too. :cheer:

    I just set one up for my woodworking shit. I have to include a business phone number on many vendor accounts so instead of getting a separate line I just use a google voice number.
     
  12. Schmoopy

    Schmoopy Shit Mult Hunter Gold

    Reputations:
    200,285
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    212,899
    Likes Received:
    36,855
    No. I don't have any friends.:down:
     
  13. blotchy

    blotchy ncvv hmasfdgvb reggvbawedfm VIP

    Reputations:
    29,444
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    It also doesn't work with your Jitterbug.
     
  14. Just Peachy

    Just Peachy VIP Extreme Gold

    Reputations:
    276,959
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    54,635
    Likes Received:
    25,616
    No, don't have one. Use one number for everything.