Shop Now At Amazon

In plain english, someone explain this fiscal cliff to me

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by JoeyG, Nov 10, 2012.

1. JoeyG

JoeyG Member

Reputations:
    Is this much ado about nothing? I am pretty much your avg Joe (literally!). Married, two kids age 13,16, with a dog. Avg home ($240,000) underwater (in real estate terms, not hurricane terms). Dual income of just over 100 g's, I work for local gov't, she works in medical field. We're already getting killed with health care premiums. Tell me what this fiscal cliff means for me. TIA

2. Sponsor

Sponsor

Reputations:

3. Obi Drunkenobe

Obi Drunkenobe Well-Known Member VIP

Reputations:
    I'm far from an expert but I think I heard everybody's taxes will go up 2400 bucks if the dems and repubs can't work a budget before the end of the year.

4. Avery

Avery Well-Known Member VIP

Reputations:
    Taxes go up.

Government spending goes down.

Capisce?

5. MyLazyHand

MyLazyHand Dumber Than Yesterday VIP

Reputations:
    There are a bunch of tax cuts in place right now. We're not paying as much as we were years ago (FICA, for example is down 8% below where it was when it was cut to spur the economy).

There are some other spending cuts in place as a result of deals made in Congress. All of the shit hits the fan at the same time - January 1st.

If our stupid politicians cannot work out a deal, everyone will be taking home a lot less money in their paychecks, and the government must also slash spending in a lot of areas. The result will be a huge shock to the economy, and we'll face a big recession.

6. Getthepoisonout

Getthepoisonout Member

Reputations: