I've solved the riddle on how you geniuses justify tipping and gratuities

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by Lucky Pierre, May 18, 2014.

1. Lucky Pierre

Lucky Pierre Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    [HR][/HR]If you go through all of the reasons why people justify the system we have for tipping certain people but not others, it really boils down to complete and utter nonsense. So why then do you otherwise smart people completely ignore your own common sense and logic when it comes to this subject?

I have solved this riddle and will share it with you shortly.

First, as Chris Rock would say, let's cut the fucking bullshit:

".... but.... but... they don't make minimum wage"

I worked as a server throughout my entire college and graduate school years, never once did I end a shift where I didn't make well over minimum wage, even on slow days. Plus in many states, including California, they actually do make minimum wage, plus their tips. Read that again. 40 million Californians adding gratuity "because they don't make minimum wage" when in fact, they receive the highest minimum wage in the country. AND... even in those states where they are paid the $2.13/hour minimum, bars and restaurants are required to pay at least minimum wage. Let's say there is a storm and not one customer shows up... the employer, by law, must make up the difference.

Also, even if it were true (and it never is), how does this become the customer's issue? This is the job they agreed to do, right? Like everyone else, they can improve their job skills, they can demand better compensation, they can unionize, etc. Yet, in your mind, this (non-existent) issue becomes the customer's burden to fix. So incredibly odd.

"... but .... but.... they provide a personal service"