Amazon Prime

Logitech Harmony Remotes Suck

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by BethsZygote, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. BethsZygote

    BethsZygote In Utero VIP

    Reputations:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    223
    Are there any better options?

    The setup is terrible. AND you have to connect to their server just to do it?

    WTF is up with that?
     
  2. Obi Drunkenobe

    Obi Drunkenobe Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    707
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    45
    I use one and the set up is a pain in the ass. The good news is you only have to do it once. Even when you replace the batteries.
     
  3. Dump Button

    Dump Button Coupon Gold

    Reputations:
    73,996
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    I've had this for years and never had a problem

    might be able to get a good deal on amazon especially with the super savings shipping

    PM me for more details on my experience


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  4. BethsZygote

    BethsZygote In Utero VIP

    Reputations:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    223
    what about channel 38?
    Seriously, my email, a login and password, an internet connection, connection to their server every time. None of these things are necessary for a fucking remote. :grad:

    The only reason for doing this is there is no alternative... are there any alternatives?

    Oh yeah, and it doesnt allow me to use the - button on my TV. i program it, but it doesnt work.:facepalm:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  5. Obi Drunkenobe

    Obi Drunkenobe Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    707
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    45
    Not that I am aware of. :dontknow: You have my sympathy.
     
  6. BethsZygote

    BethsZygote In Utero VIP

    Reputations:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    223
    FWIW i have a Harmony 700. You can only program 6 devices (there is ZERO reason for this other than them wanting you to buy a more expensive remote from them).

    I have a
    TV,
    Receiver,
    external HDMI switch (so i can listen to music and play video games/watch sports)
    WDTV
    Xbox 360
    Ps3
    and a Wii that i have to manually switch to.

    Total fucking bullshit. Ive had it a 18 months.

    Did i mention it doesnt charge the rechargeable batteries that came with it?
     
  7. Obi Drunkenobe

    Obi Drunkenobe Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    707
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    45
    I dont have my XBox or WiiU hooked to it.I have the the basic one too.
     
  8. BethsZygote

    BethsZygote In Utero VIP

    Reputations:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    223
    im pretty sure there is a lower model than the 700, i wanna say a 650.

    the 'black' on the buttons is wearing off too. And its not even from usage. i never push the record button, and its edges are wearing off.
     
  9. Obi Drunkenobe

    Obi Drunkenobe Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    707
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    45

    I probably have the lowest one then. It doesn't even have a screen. l:snicker: I keep hearing people say how they hate their Harmony remote. I like mine :dontknow: Maybe simple is better?
     
  10. somedude61

    somedude61 Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    679
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    69
    This thread is worthless without interesting content.
     
  11. BethsZygote

    BethsZygote In Utero VIP

    Reputations:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    223
    the 700 has a screen, but its not a touch screen.

    Im pretty sure the next highest model has a 'docking cradle' that all the reviews said was shit (for one, the remote could not be used while docked, and i believe the batteries were not replaceable).

    I also want to say the '650' could only control 5 devices.

    This one has a usb micro (i think its micro, its the standard smart phone usb).
     
  12. slacker

    slacker New Member

    Reputations:
    -3
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own two, a 550 and an 1100. Yes, they take a while to set-up, if you are looking for old school fast set-up the Harmony remotes are not for you. In complex systems they are the cheapest option to have full and proper control. I'm not big fan of the ergo's on the 550, but it works like a champ and shows very little wear after years of use. The 1100 I have no complaints about, and is generally a joy to use.
     
  13. Horff

    Horff Active Member

    Reputations:
    146
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    33
    I've got a Harmony One and it works fine. My wife and kids require it. It has pretty pictures that say "Watch TV" or "Play Video Game" or "Watch DVD" that they can touch on the screen. Otherwise they would never be able to figure out which input the tv needs to be on and what channel the receiver needs to be on. Now they can press a button and let Harmony do the work.
     
  14. JB50

    JB50 Active Member VIP

    Reputations:
    401
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    67
    I just buy cheap as fuck universal remotes with a learn function.

    Its really all you need.
     
  15. fredrogers

    fredrogers Active Member

    Reputations:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    109
    I have the Harmony 650. It's ok, but I wouldn't buy another one. At least a couple times a week, it goes through the initial startup where it asks you to hit the right arrow three times, hit the center button, hit watch tv, etc... I never had to reprogram it though. Just fucking annoying. And yes, the batteries are fresh.
     
  16. MyLazyHand

    MyLazyHand Dumber Than Yesterday VIP

    Reputations:
    49,944
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,780
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    When I was 12, my best friend had cable and one of these in three different rooms of the house. I thought he was filthy rich. At my house we got 7 channels over the rabbit ears.
     
  17. username

    username Active Member VIP

    Reputations:
    -194
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    2
    Better:
    Use your smartphone and a bluetooht IR box. Belking have good ones.
     
  18. fn2

    fn2 Member

    Reputations:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have several Harmony devices and find them to work quite well. If your set up is simple then they are generally not worth the investment in time to learn how to get set up. However if you have more than one home theater arrangement or you upgrade or add to your system, then their solution can be a time saver. Another advantages is when your spouse or kids break or lose the remote, you can quickly be back up to speed with a quick download. All in all, despite some shortcomings, i have found them be a great solution in our ome.
     

Share This Page