Minimum wage increase discussion

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by NyMarkNy, Jun 20, 2014.

1. NyMarkNy

NyMarkNy VIP Extreme Gold

Reputations:
    http://www.cnn.com/2014/06/20/opinion/offenheiser-minimum-wage/index.html?hpt=hp_t3

This guy is full of shit. As a small business owner I am making no where near 200 to 1 or even 15 to 1 as what my lowest level employee is making. If they raise minimum wage then my entry level guys that I could replace with a machine, but merely kept on the job because I genuinely felt bad for them and wanted to give them a chance to make a living would be gone.

Couple this with Obamacare and the massive hit I took in terms of providing health care without cutting employees or their hours and it would be bad news for a huge percentage of people working for me.

I do not understand why these very liberal people cant grasp that 1. If we raised minimum wage based upon inflation rates it would be exactly where it is now unless we used some arbitrary starting point other than the inception of the minimum wage. 2. If you raise minimum wage then every other employee will want their wages raised so that they are not suddenly making what a guy is making his first day on the job when they have been working for a couple of years. 3. If you raise wages, costs go up. Even for owners such as myself that are not greedy by any means, that means either you cut jobs or raise prices -> this leads to less purchasing power so now your 10 per hour buys the same shit that your 8 per hour did.