Question for Married Men of the Shed: Do Your Wives Work?

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by peterfonda, Mar 4, 2015.

1. peterfonda

peterfonda Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    My wife bitches and complains about me a lot. Her latest complaint is that I don't earn enough money to support our family (us, and our four kids), requiring her to work full time out of the house. She tells me that "a lot" of her friends don't work.

Full disclosure: I am a practicing lawyer and make a low six-figure salary (eight, if you include the digits in the "cents" column). But life in the NYC-Long Island area can be very expensive, and her salary as a teacher in the NYC public school system is necessary to make ends meet. NY is one of the highest-taxed states in the country. Between local, state and federal taxes, we're lucky to come home with 55-60% of our yearly salaries.

The spouses of all my male friends all hold full-time jobs outside the home. In fact, some of the wives outearn their husbands by a substantial amount.

Question: Do your wives work? And if they do, is it because they choose to work or is it because your family needs the second income? And are they happy about it? I just need to know if I'm alone out here.

PI Nate, queerface, SomerSky and 2 others like this.
  2. slab0meat

slab0meat negative creep

Reputations:
    She works. She chooses to, partly to maintain the lifestyle and not have to pinch pennies. She makes a lot more than me, which is great!

3. synch22

synch22 Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    yes she does, I don't. 5 years and counting... OP your wife sounds like a pia.
    every situation is different , if you need 2 earners you need it..period!

I plan on going back in another year or 2 once the youngest is in K. But it will need to be flexible.

4. Beer Chugger

Beer Chugger Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    Self employed but doesn't make the equivalent of a full time job

5. LawyerLarry