Shop Now At Amazon

Roku

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by PullMyFinger, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. PullMyFinger

    PullMyFinger Hors d'oeuvre Addict VIP

    Reputations:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10,286
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have to finish up some Xmas shopping for people I won't be seeing until this weekend.

    Someone suggested Roku LT. Anyone have one? Would you recommend it?

    If so, is it basically just a NetFlix device or is there other decent content on it?

    Is everything subscription service or is there some free stuff too?

    TIA :hat:
     
  2. BrulesRules

    BrulesRules Can I kick it?!?! VIP

    Reputations:
    57,132
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    70,078
    Likes Received:
    3,188
  3. Ano

    Ano Dawg Supporter VIP

    Reputations:
    3,605
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11,476
    Likes Received:
    754
    You can use Plex with Roku to stream any movies music or pictures on your computers to your TV
     
  4. Dick Gozinya

    Dick Gozinya Active Member

    Reputations:
    -3
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. eliasbboy

    eliasbboy Moderator Staff Member

    Reputations:
    40,430
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    2,117
  6. jdwhatever

    jdwhatever Fesh VIP

    Reputations:
    4,819
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    95,860
    Likes Received:
    879
    call your provider,theres a chance you can get it for free
     
  7. jdwhatever

    jdwhatever Fesh VIP

    Reputations:
    4,819
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    95,860
    Likes Received:
    879
    its kinda the same as apple tv
     
  8. PullMyFinger

    PullMyFinger Hors d'oeuvre Addict VIP

    Reputations:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10,286
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yea, that's what it looks like to me. I was just trying to see which one has better content.

    I was told there are a lot more channels available on Roku than what is posted in their channel store.
     
  9. eliasbboy

    eliasbboy Moderator Staff Member

    Reputations:
    40,430
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    2,117
  10. PullMyFinger

    PullMyFinger Hors d'oeuvre Addict VIP

    Reputations:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10,286
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanx. That one did have more info and I found a full channel list.

    Now I have two new questions. Looks like the only difference between the LT and the XS are the 720-1080 compatibility and the XS has gaming capabilities, right?

    Can you run PLEX on the LT or do you need the USB port from the XS to transfer content from your computer?
     
  11. eliasbboy

    eliasbboy Moderator Staff Member

    Reputations:
    40,430
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Hmmm...

    That I do not know.
     
  12. gwartney

    gwartney Naturally Autodidactic Gold

    Reputations:
    30,213
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23,067
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    I haven't researched it lately but a while back, you weren't able to transfer content from your PC on the Roku. You can on the apple TV and the WD TV Live device.

    I saw the Apple TV on sale somewhere recently. Don't remember where. I think it was $75 (Reg $99).

    I have had 2 WD TV Live devices and would not recommend them. Their menu/interface system with the PC is really clumsy. It periodically forgets what you have on your PC. When you add new content, it is difficult to get it to recognize it. Online Services like Netflix is pretty straightforward.

    I got an Apple TV as a gift for Xmas. Haven't hooked it up yet but the interface is Itunes. It will be so easy if all I have to do is go to Itunes to stream my PC content to my TV, I'll probably kick my own self in the balls for not having one sooner. not to mention I will be able to wirelessly show content from my Ipad to my TV and use both the ipad and Iphone to control it.
     
  13. eliasbboy

    eliasbboy Moderator Staff Member

    Reputations:
    40,430
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    You can transfer media to some Rokus, but it's only mp4 and mkv right now.
     
  14. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Shed Founder

    Reputations:
    174,526
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    63,179
    Likes Received:
    8,476
    I use the WD Live Plus

    It doesnt have all the features but it does have Netflix etc.. The main advantage is that it plays any media including .FLV. It can access your network drives or you can attach a usb drive right to it. 1080p, I have yet to find anything better.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Mr Sinister

    Mr Sinister Staff Member

    Reputations:
    62,250
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    19,494
    Likes Received:
    4,351
    hmm i wanted to get a roku but that WD thing seems cool because i watch a lot of different types of video files :bigthink
     
  16. gwartney

    gwartney Naturally Autodidactic Gold

    Reputations:
    30,213
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23,067
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    Does yours ever lose your "my media?"

    When you add, say a new movie to your PC, can you update the wdtv easily by having it rescan? I have endless problems with mine.
     
  17. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Shed Founder

    Reputations:
    174,526
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    63,179
    Likes Received:
    8,476
    You never lose your media because you access it with the media player every time by browsing folders on your drives.
     
  18. gwartney

    gwartney Naturally Autodidactic Gold

    Reputations:
    30,213
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23,067
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    That's how mine used to work. At some point it changed. Now it scans my shared drives and then only lets me access what it saw on that scan. If I add something to that drive, it doesn't show up on the device unless I get lucky and can force a rescan. Even then, sometimes, it doesn't see the new stuff. It's truly been a horrible experience for me. Like I said earlier, I'm on my second one. The third, really. I had so much trouble with the first one that I finally bought a second one. It kept freezing up so I sent it in on warranty and got a third one. I have been on every forum and board and the support site for a couple of years trying to figure the thing out. Just a major pain.
     
  19. dawg

    dawg In The Dog House Shed Founder

    Reputations:
    174,526
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    63,179
    Likes Received:
    8,476
    That sounds very strange bro. However, The WD Media player does not scan, you must browse every time. Thats what makes it great IMO.
     
  20. gwartney

    gwartney Naturally Autodidactic Gold

    Reputations:
    30,213
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23,067
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    I have the WDTV Live (not the plus). It does scan. The power (blue) light blinks while it is scanning. It's right in some of the support docs. I would cut off my left nut if I could just browse each time. I have the latest firmware. When I go to "file" right now, it only shows parts of a couple of my shared folders.
     

Share This Page