So, umm, either Dawg is inserting ads or something ain't right...

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by Chimney Portions, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    And I'm certain that Dawg is not inserting ads...

    Anybody want to educate me on what this is and how I get rid of it?

    [​IMG]
    I've seen the same type of ad pop up on wikipedia and youtube within the last two weeks.
     
  2. DogStar69

    DogStar69 Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    -131,318
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29,053
    Likes Received:
    15,885
    I've been getting a certain amount of words underscored and hyperlinked and when you pass over them it show something like what you show, but it's not only on this site. It may be a browser issue, which one are you using?
     
  3. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    I'm using Chrome. This started happening shortly after I downloaded the Social Fixer extensions from Chrome's Webstore, but I haven't seen anybody report any issues with that extension...so it's most likely a coincidence.
     
  4. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253

    Oh and I haven't had any text underscored or hyperlinked here or elsewhere...just the ads.
     
  5. shockingmary

    shockingmary New Member Banned User

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    2
    problably malware
     
  6. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    That's what I figured, but my Norton's up to date and I have no idea where to go from here.
     
  7. Murphy

    Murphy mglw'nafh fhthagn-ngah VIP

    Reputations:
    175
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5,860
    Likes Received:
    5
    Avast > Norton

    Since it's a dental ad, I'd TOTALLY blame Bye You (especially since she's not here yet).
     
  8. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    I was thinking the exact same thing! :byeyou:
     
  9. Murphy

    Murphy mglw'nafh fhthagn-ngah VIP

    Reputations:
    175
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5,860
    Likes Received:
    5
    :hug:

    Honestly, tho, if you can s-can Norton, get something else. It's an okay antivirus (et al), but it's easily hacked and a resource hog. Grab Avast! or Zone Alarm. :B Spybot is something you can grab now and scan your comp with, it won't mess with Norton and SHOULD find the malware and quarantine it (depending on the malware coding, of course). It's a free product, so no harm to your pocket.
     
  10. Chimney Portions

    Chimney Portions I drink cum Banned User

    Reputations:
    53,779
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    30,067
    Likes Received:
    2,253
    I'm rather slow, so let me just make sure I'm understanding you correctly. DLing/running Avast with Norton already installed won't fuck with my computing machine? I remember several years back when running Norton with McAfee created a window for a nasty trojan. That was like a decade ago when I was using AOL with a 56k, but still...

    And thanks, brutha! :lo5:
     
  11. JaredWD

    JaredWD Active Member

    Reputations:
    158
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    36
    Step 1: In the mobile number box, type in 516-922-WINE
    Step 2: Click "Call Me Now"

    In all seriousness, it appears that you have some malicious extension installed.. go into browser preferences and check under the extensions tab. You should be able to disable it from there.
     
  12. HS Cult Leader

    HS Cult Leader Elite Member Gold

    Reputations:
    101,846
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,106
    Likes Received:
    18,399
  13. username

    username Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    224
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    82
    I guess you use Chrome. Chrome have shitty privacy setting and let third party adware to be installed.

    You will never have viruses/malware on real computers (Unix based).

    People who care about privacy should not use Chrome. Nothing is for free. You are Googles commodity. They make money on datamining everything you do. People who have outbound firewalls have fun with Chrome. Chrome calls home every day. Block that port, and Chrome tries another port the next time. Only program in 30 years that I have seen that have done that.

    Chrome uses WebKit, the greatest web renderer. Apple Safari also uses Webkit, but a newer version. Apple makes it money from hardware, and therefore they don't datamine.

    This is not meant as a Google Vs Apple or anything else. Just facts. I think Chrome is great and use loads of Google services. I know that they store all my information and if I do something bad, the cops will see every single search I have done since I started to use Google search.

    I wish I could pay goolge a fee to not datamine my stuff.
     
  14. Bye You!

    Bye You! The n word guy Gold

    Reputations:
    339,535
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    79,567
    Likes Received:
    41,529
    i hacked the system. call me now!
     
  15. Cawn

    Cawn Active Member

    Reputations:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    26

    By all means. This will mop up after what spills past your anti-virus wares. Thinking back, I can't remember the last PC I owned that I didn't utilize this great freeware.
     
  16. newcastlefan

    newcastlefan גֵּרְשֹׁם VIP

    Reputations:
    136,365
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    57,762
    Likes Received:
    17,055

    just a suggestion: hover over the ad, right click and see what the source is. then if you use ff or safari use adblock to (1) block popups, and (2) block the ad source. on ff you can go to about:config and search for the source string to see what is supplying it. in safari you use Window-Activity to see the popup source.
     
  17. newcastlefan

    newcastlefan גֵּרְשֹׁם VIP

    Reputations:
    136,365
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    57,762
    Likes Received:
    17,055
    much as i like MAB, if the thing is loaded as a XUL component in Firefox MAB won't find it because all of FF is XUL and it looks normal. many BHO have a tiny approval that you have to opt-out in order to not add advertising links when you install their toolbar.

    Social Fixer doesn't do this (and is only active on Facebook) if you get it from the developer, but some 3rd-party sites have added their own special gifts to his package.
     
  18. slacker

    slacker New Member

    Reputations:
    -3
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    skip the dumb shit.... norton f'n blows and is slow as fuck, delete it and use Avast (put it on your phone too).... use Opera as your browser... and use Spybot once a week...
     
  19. R.P. McMurphy

    R.P. McMurphy Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    199,092
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    41,581
    Likes Received:
    40,972
    ...im using ie9 with kaspersky and i never even have a problem here or anywhere. it does sound like malware. i really happy with kasperskys, i will buy it again well worth it.
     
  20. Spazzmatazz

    Spazzmatazz Band Member Banned User

    Reputations:
    3,432
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43,051
    Likes Received:
    843
    You're right. It's malware, and virus scanners don't do a real good job removing them. I use 2 different free ones, Spybot being one of them, and Malwarebytes being the other.