tech question/help - media server for tv

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by boognishstern, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. boognishstern

    boognishstern Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    27,746
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    4,479
    sooo, i'm not really that tech savvy with technology. started using a ps3 with usb sticks about a year & a half ago. use it almost every night @ least 4-6hrs. i know i gotta be running it into the ground though because the fan kicked on pretty loud & heavy the other night.

    could any of you point me in the direction of a good media server type hardware that i can buy & just plug into the tv & then use usb sticks?

    any suggestions?
     
  2. Scott

    Scott Masshole Staff Member

    Reputations:
    89,052
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29,650
    Likes Received:
    16,231
    I bought a cheap blu ray player that has a USB port. I think I paid about $60 for it a few years ago. Works great. Also has netflix and a few other services built in.
     
    boognishstern likes this.
  3. boognishstern

    boognishstern Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    27,746
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    4,479
    yeah, that's what i was thinking originally. kinda looking around for just a media server box though that will play everything, audio & video. i'd love to get something that would play it all. mkv files as well...with subtitles.
     
  4. HS Cult Leader

    HS Cult Leader Elite Member Gold

    Reputations:
    101,606
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,086
    Likes Received:
    18,342
    I've been using the different WD media player for years, I'm using their latest version without any problems. It's simple and plays EVERYTHING! What I like best is I don't need to move my files into the Public files like others require, this will see any Shared file anywhere is your computer.

    Here is an in-depth review I found:




    I also have the WD EX2 server, it is a breeze to use and setup



     
    Laika likes this.
  5. Laika

    Laika Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    2,472
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    524
  6. Afganistand

    Afganistand Motivationally Deficient VIP

    Reputations:
    42,153
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,545
    Likes Received:
    5,053
    Your PS3 is a media server. If it and your computer are hooked into your home network, you just need to set the PS3 to recognize your computer, and set your computer desired directories to share, and you can stream instead of using the USB stick. At least as long as the PS3 is still working.
     
    cg256 and Dump Button like this.
  7. TeeDonkey

    TeeDonkey Well-Known Member VIP

    Reputations:
    76,873
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,778
    Likes Received:
    4,840
    Thanks for the info.

    BUT can somebody tell me how to record all my shows from my Verizon Fios DVR? The only way i found so far is to use my old school vhs/dvd recorder.

    Any ideas? Would these WD things work?
     
  8. HS Cult Leader

    HS Cult Leader Elite Member Gold

    Reputations:
    101,606
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,086
    Likes Received:
    18,342

    I don't how your box works, but it depends on if you can see into your box with your computer and access it's files.

    I use a DreamBox, so when I go to my Network, it shows up as the DM800, after clicking a couple windows I arrive at all my recorded shows and can copy, back up, and convert at will.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    TeeDonkey likes this.
  9. TallTyrion

    TallTyrion Triggered like a mofo VIP

    Reputations:
    152,799
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    16,434
    Likes Received:
    34,264
    I use the crap out of my roku, which has plex on it, and I stream stuff from there.
     
    broccoli rob likes this.
  10. broccoli rob

    broccoli rob thanks for the memories DW3

    Reputations:
    52,195
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    8,015
    Likes Received:
    12,323
    what I came here to say. Plex works great for me. Another plus is that if you buy additional Roku sticks (at $49 a pop), you can access your content on any TV in your house.
     
    TallTyrion likes this.
  11. TallTyrion

    TallTyrion Triggered like a mofo VIP

    Reputations:
    152,799
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    16,434
    Likes Received:
    34,264
    Also, there's 100's of channels of free content on the Roku....not a lot of 1st run stuff, but if you are into Film Noir like I am, there is more stuff than you have time to watch without spending a dime on content.
     
  12. scoobyla

    scoobyla Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    35,238
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    10,800
    Likes Received:
    8,083
    jaypeg it through the email
     
  13. TallTyrion

    TallTyrion Triggered like a mofo VIP

    Reputations:
    152,799
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    16,434
    Likes Received:
    34,264
    maybe a sim card?
     
  14. x76

    x76 Well-Known Member

    Reputations:
    34,939
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    5,521
    I've got a repurposed iMac I store my ripped DVDs on. Very convenient compared to shuffling physical DVDs.