Politics The Clinton foundation is being torpedoed by partisan political hacks...

Discussion in 'The Howard Stern Show' started by Mama looka, Sep 17, 2016.

1. Mama looka

Mama looka Well-Known Member

Reputations:
    ...who have no idea how not-for-profits are run.

I am a CPA and I have been a not-for-profit accountant for over 20 years. The nonsense spread around about the Clinton foundation is unconscionable.

The audited financial statements and tax returns (form 990) for all charitable organizations (with a 501-c-3 tax designation) are open for public inspection. Anyone can look at them, because all charitable organizations are a public trust.

Attached are the 2014 Financial Statements and tax form 990 for the Clinton Foundation (you'll have to scroll past the financial statements to gt to the 990);

https://www.clintonfoundation.org/sites/default/files/clinton_foundation_report_public_2014.pdf

If you look at page 10 of the tax return, you'll see what all the fuss is about.

It says "Grants give to domestic organizations 4,175,833
    Grants given to foreign organizations 984,552
    Total Expenses 91,281,245 "

So the percentage of total grants given out is about 5.7% of the total expenses.

This is horribly misleading. The Clinton foundation is not in the business of giving out grants (giving money to other charitable organizations so they can do the work). The Clinton Foundation does the work themselves.

They don't give money to another charity to have them work with African farmers and villagers about clean water and preventing aids and malaria, they do it themselves.
    They don't give money to other organizations to prevent world-wide deforestation and ease global warming, they do it themselves.
    They don't give money to other organizations to fight for equal treatment for women world wide, and giving our kids in the US more nutritious and less fattening school lunches to prevent obesity, they do it themselves.